Please call 01200 423267 Monday–Friday 9.30am to 5pm and a member of the team will assist you.

Variety Award for MD of Ken Varey

A host of stars attended the Legends of Industry Awards at the Hilton Hotel, Manchester on 12th November.  Jayne Torvill OBE and Christopher Dean OBE received their award from Variety, the Children’s Charity. A host of stars joined them to receive their own accolades, these included: best-selling author Martina Cole, Sir Howard Bernstein, Chief Executive of Manchester City Council, award-winning celebrity chef Aldo Zilli, former World Champion snooker player Dennis Taylor, leading Manchester sommelier George Bergier, Tim Bacon (Co-Founder, Living Ventures), Charles Ledigo (Chairman, Reisser Ltd) and Kevin Horkin (Ken Varey Town and Country).

This annual event honours and celebrates those who have achieved outstanding success in their chosen fields of business, sport and industry. The evening raises crucially important funds to enable Variety to support sick, disabled and disadvantaged children and young people in the region.

Amazing entertainment was provided by Happy Mondays star Rowetta. Paul Pashley entertained the guests during dinner. Rounding off a sensational night  was  “­Abbasolutely,” a fantastic Abba Tribute Band, who soon had the dance floor full to capacity.

Guests had the opportunity to engage in fundraising through live and silent auctions and a rapid raffle with over 30 fantastic prizes. 

The inspirational Matt King OBE, Ambassador for Variety made a very moving speech, to which the guests responded with a standing ovation. 

Lyn Staunton, Development Director of Variety, the Children’s Charity, North West Region, commented: 

“We are always humbled by the outstanding achievements of the recipients of our Legends of Industry Awards. Every one of them, has excelled themselves in their chosen field. 

We are delighted to have such wonderful support and interest from industry and corporate partners. This year’s awards were completely sold out, and bookings are already being made for the 2015 Awards."

Posted on